I am on my way to a meeting, where I’m giving a huge presentation. While trying to put the presentation on my USB hard drive, I clicked “delete”. My whole presentation is gone! What can I do?!
Uh oh, Spaghettio.
Don’t worry, the Geek is here to save the day! When you delete a file, it doesn’t just disappear, it actually goes to your “Recycle Bin”. When you click on the icon, which is on the desktop of your computer, it should open up a folder of all the files you have recently “deleted”. To restore any of your files, you just need to highlight any files you want to be restored, right-click on the file, and select the “Restore” option. This will restore the file from the original location it was deleted.
If your file is not in the Recycle Bin, there could be three explanations for this. The first one is that it could have been deleted from the Recycle Bin in order to make room for more files. However, if the file was just deleted, it is most likely one of the other two options. The second explanation is that you, or your boss, or whoever set up the computer, could have enabled Windows not to send the file to the Recycle Bin. The most likely scenario, is that you, or someone else has emptied the Recycle Bin.